Dance Studio Life Magazine
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Connecticut Classic Announces Winners of Annual Competition

Jack Sprance; photo by Kenn Hopkins Photography

Jack Sprance; photo by Kenn Hopkins Photography

The Connecticut Classic 2013, an annual weekend of ballet classes and competition run by the Dance Alliance of Connecticut, has announced its winners.

Judges for the March event were Stephanie Saland, Flavio Salazar, and Tamara King.

Senior Top Ten winners were: Jack Sprance (gold medal), Nutmeg Conservatory of the Arts; Gabrielle Collins (silver medal), Hartt School Community Division; Katherine Kurata (bronze medal), New England Ballet; Eugenie Chen, Hartt School Community Division; Marissa Dembek, Connecticut Concert Ballet; Danielle Dorsch, American Youth Ballet; Emily Dylewski, Connecticut Concert Ballet; Maggie Powderly, Main Street Ballet; Solana Snow, Hartt School Community Division; and Rowan Young, The Ballet Lab.

Junior Top Ten winners were: Samantha Howe (gold medal), Connecticut Concert Ballet; Claire Hutchinson (silver medal), Hartt School Community Division; Theo Pilette (bronze medal), Lebanon School of Ballet; Alexis Aiudi, Hartt School Community Division; Isabelle Breier, Valentina Kozlova’s Dance Conservatory of New York; Avery Lasky, New England Ballet; Patricia Lui, Main Street Ballet; Taylor O’Conner, Dancin’ in the Spotlight; Damiano Scarfi, Woodbury Ballet Academy; and Marissa Ward, Hartt School Community.

Scholarships included: Boston Ballet School (full tuition), Theo Pilette; Joffrey Ballet (full tuition) Young Dancer program, Alexis Aiudi; Joffrey Ballet (full tuition) Summer Intensive, Avery Lasky; American Ballet Theater, Austin, Texas (full tuition), Jack Sprance; Atlanta Ballet (full tuition), Gabrielle Collins; Atlanta Ballet (full tuition), Damiano Scarfi; Burklyn Ballet Theatre (full tuition), Danielle Dorsch; Burklyn Ballet Theatre (full tuition), Katherine Kurata;

Bolshoi Ballet Academy SI (50 percent tuition), Claire Hutchinson; Interlochen Center for the Arts, Michigan (full tuition), Samantha Howe; BalletMet Academy of Dance, Columbus, Ohio (full tuition), Rowan Young; Nutmeg Conservatory for the Arts (full tuition), Eugenie Chen;

New Haven Ballet (full tuition), Maggie Powderly; and Hartt School Community Division, Hartford (50 percent tuition), Emily Dylewski.

Also, “For Eva” Dance Education Scholarship in Memory of Eva Block ($500), Marissa Ward; Magna Physical Therapy and Dance Medicine Center Performing Arts Scholarship ($500), Isabelle Breier; and Lorraine Shupe Memorial Scholarship ($200), Kathryn Manger and Andrew Matte.


Leave a Reply


Share this page with your dance friends
All Dance Studio Life content

Rhee Gold on Twitter
April 2013
« Mar   May »