Dance Studio Life http://www.dancestudiolife.com Dedicated to Quality Dance Education Wed, 24 May 2017 16:56:54 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.7.5 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/cropped-icon-512-32x32.jpg Dance Studio Life http://www.dancestudiolife.com 32 32 May-June 2017 | Studio Support http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-studio-support/ Wed, 24 May 2017 16:55:51 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48685 May-June 2017 | 2 Tips for Modern & Contemporary Teachers | Preparedness and Repetition http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-2-tips-for-modern-contemporary-teachers-preparedness-and-repetition/ Tue, 23 May 2017 16:02:59 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48673 Tip 1: The start of class can be challenging if I don’t allow students time to transition from their everyday routines into class time. Tip 2: Repetition is always important, especially with middle- and high-school-aged students. ]]> May-June 2017 | High Fidelity http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-high-fidelity/ Mon, 22 May 2017 20:05:53 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48663 May-June 2017 | Ask Rhee Gold http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-ask-rhee-gold/ Thu, 18 May 2017 16:24:13 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48650 May-June 2017 | Thriving on the Outskirts Part 2 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-thriving-on-the-outskirts-part-2/ Wed, 17 May 2017 20:15:54 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48633 May-June 2017 | 2 Tips for Tap Teachers | Wings and Flash Steps http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-2-tips-for-tap-teachers-wings-and-flash-steps/ Tue, 16 May 2017 22:27:04 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48628 Tip 1: Since the early days of tap, flash steps have been used to bring routines to exciting climaxes or to challenge other dancers in contests. Tip 2: Popular flash steps with wings include the single-foot wing in the third step of the B.S. Chorus, the double wing in Bill “Bojangles” Robinson’s “Doin’ the New Lowdown,” and the alternating wing and tip in the traditional buck and wing.]]> May-June 2017 | Thriving on the Outskirts Part 1 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-thriving-on-the-outskirts-part-1/ Mon, 15 May 2017 21:01:02 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48618 May-June 2017 | Dance History Quiz http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-dance-history-quiz/ Fri, 12 May 2017 20:32:42 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48595 May-June 2017 | EditorSpeak http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-editorspeak/ Mon, 08 May 2017 17:30:02 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48586 May-June 2017 | On My Mind http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-on-my-mind/ Mon, 08 May 2017 17:05:06 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48582 May-June 2017 | 2 Tips for Ballet Teachers | Grand Battement to Side and Back http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-2-tips-for-ballet-teachers-grand-battement-to-side-and-back/ Mon, 08 May 2017 16:17:19 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48578 Tip 1: To obtain a higher extension in grand battement à la seconde, students often rock the weight back into the heel of the standing foot. Tip 2: Most students love the sensation of a grand battement derrière into arabesque. This common step needs constant maintenance, as students can form bad habits quickly.]]> May-June 2017 | The Space Race http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-the-space-race/ Fri, 05 May 2017 18:15:29 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48555 May-June 2017 | Moving Images http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-moving-images/ Fri, 05 May 2017 17:48:33 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48538 Balanchine Essays: “Arabesque” 2. Thelma’s Tap Notes: Tap Into Life: A Guide to Tap Dancing for Adults, Level I 3. Reset 4. Contemporary Turns and Jumps With Albert Cattafi]]> May-June 2017 | Page Turners http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-page-turners/ Thu, 04 May 2017 19:49:54 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48535 Tappin’ at the Apollo: The African American Female Tap Dance Duo Salt and Pepper 2. Saving Radio City Music Hall: A Dancer’s True Story 3. How They Became Famous Dancers: A Dancing History 4. Merce Cunningham: Beyond the Perfect Stage]]> May-June 2017 | Bulletin Board http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-bulletin-board/ Thu, 04 May 2017 18:32:12 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48523 May-June 2017 | FYI http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-fyi/ Thu, 04 May 2017 16:57:18 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48516 May-June 2017 | Performance Corner http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-performance-corner/ Mon, 01 May 2017 19:33:46 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48509 May-June 2017 | Business Bonanza http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017/ Mon, 01 May 2017 04:01:50 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48502 March-April 2017 | Collective Wisdom http://www.dancestudiolife.com/march-april-2017-collective-wisdom/ Wed, 12 Apr 2017 17:53:25 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48432 Reality Check: Sensitivity and Caring Q. I have a talented dancer who lost an arm in an accident. She came back to ballet class and is doing amazingly well, but I don’t want to pretend that this is not going to affect her balance or her dancing. How do I navigate this situation with sensitivity and caring? ]]> March-April 2017 | 2 Music Tips for Dance Teachers | The Ballets Russes and Petrushka http://www.dancestudiolife.com/march-april-2017-2-music-tips-for-dance-teachers-the-ballets-russes-and-petrushka/ Tue, 11 Apr 2017 17:44:38 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48419