Dance Studio Life http://www.dancestudiolife.com Dedicated to Quality Dance Education Mon, 26 Jun 2017 18:06:27 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.8 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/cropped-icon-512-32x32.jpg Dance Studio Life http://www.dancestudiolife.com 32 32 May-June 2017 | College Close-Ups | Indiana University http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-college-close-ups-indiana-university/ Mon, 05 Jun 2017 10:00:53 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48747 May-June 2017 | 2 Music Tips for Dance Teachers | Hints for Recital and Exam Music http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-2-music-tips-for-dance-teachers-hints-for-recital-and-exam-music/ Fri, 02 Jun 2017 10:00:34 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48743 Tip 1: With year-end recitals and Royal Academy of Dance and Cecchetti exams around the corner, in my final column, I’d like to share tips for choosing music that will help your students remember the steps, keep count, and look their best. Tip 2: Ragtime melodies can be fun. Scott Joplin’s March Majestic (2:52) and Rosebud March (3:09), both in 6/8 with multiple sections, are wonderful for skips, gallops, spring points, and chassés.]]> May-June 2017 | Mail http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-mail/ Thu, 01 Jun 2017 18:45:20 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48739 May-June 2017 | 2 Tips for Hip-Hop Teachers | The Upper Body’s Connected to the . . . Lower Body http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-2-tips-for-hip-hop-teachers-the-upper-bodys-connected-to-the-lower-body/ Wed, 31 May 2017 10:00:29 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48730 Tip 1: Many hip-hop students struggle to connect their upper bodies (arms, shoulders, neck, head, chest, and torso) to their lower-body moves. It’s easier said than done. Here are some ways to develop the upper half’s ability to complement the lower—and make your students into more expressive, dynamic dancers. Tip 2: Once students are comfortable with the upper body following the lower, have them try making the upper body contrast with the lower. ]]> May-June 2017 | Making a Good Impression http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-making-a-good-impression/ Tue, 30 May 2017 16:23:04 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48719 May-June 2017 | Studio Support http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-studio-support/ Wed, 24 May 2017 16:55:51 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48685 May-June 2017 | 2 Tips for Modern & Contemporary Teachers | Preparedness and Repetition http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-2-tips-for-modern-contemporary-teachers-preparedness-and-repetition/ Tue, 23 May 2017 16:02:59 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48673 Tip 1: The start of class can be challenging if I don’t allow students time to transition from their everyday routines into class time. Tip 2: Repetition is always important, especially with middle- and high-school-aged students. ]]> May-June 2017 | High Fidelity http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-high-fidelity/ Mon, 22 May 2017 20:05:53 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48663 May-June 2017 | Ask Rhee Gold http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-ask-rhee-gold/ Thu, 18 May 2017 16:24:13 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48650 May-June 2017 | Thriving on the Outskirts Part 2 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-thriving-on-the-outskirts-part-2/ Wed, 17 May 2017 20:15:54 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48633 May-June 2017 | 2 Tips for Tap Teachers | Wings and Flash Steps http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-2-tips-for-tap-teachers-wings-and-flash-steps/ Tue, 16 May 2017 22:27:04 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48628 Tip 1: Since the early days of tap, flash steps have been used to bring routines to exciting climaxes or to challenge other dancers in contests. Tip 2: Popular flash steps with wings include the single-foot wing in the third step of the B.S. Chorus, the double wing in Bill “Bojangles” Robinson’s “Doin’ the New Lowdown,” and the alternating wing and tip in the traditional buck and wing.]]> May-June 2017 | Thriving on the Outskirts Part 1 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-thriving-on-the-outskirts-part-1/ Mon, 15 May 2017 21:01:02 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48618 May-June 2017 | Dance History Quiz http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-dance-history-quiz/ Fri, 12 May 2017 20:32:42 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48595 May-June 2017 | EditorSpeak http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-editorspeak/ Mon, 08 May 2017 17:30:02 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48586 May-June 2017 | On My Mind http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-on-my-mind/ Mon, 08 May 2017 17:05:06 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48582 May-June 2017 | 2 Tips for Ballet Teachers | Grand Battement to Side and Back http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-2-tips-for-ballet-teachers-grand-battement-to-side-and-back/ Mon, 08 May 2017 16:17:19 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48578 Tip 1: To obtain a higher extension in grand battement à la seconde, students often rock the weight back into the heel of the standing foot. Tip 2: Most students love the sensation of a grand battement derrière into arabesque. This common step needs constant maintenance, as students can form bad habits quickly.]]> May-June 2017 | The Space Race http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-the-space-race/ Fri, 05 May 2017 18:15:29 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48555 May-June 2017 | Moving Images http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-moving-images/ Fri, 05 May 2017 17:48:33 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48538 Balanchine Essays: “Arabesque” 2. Thelma’s Tap Notes: Tap Into Life: A Guide to Tap Dancing for Adults, Level I 3. Reset 4. Contemporary Turns and Jumps With Albert Cattafi]]> May-June 2017 | Page Turners http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-page-turners/ Thu, 04 May 2017 19:49:54 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48535 Tappin’ at the Apollo: The African American Female Tap Dance Duo Salt and Pepper 2. Saving Radio City Music Hall: A Dancer’s True Story 3. How They Became Famous Dancers: A Dancing History 4. Merce Cunningham: Beyond the Perfect Stage]]> May-June 2017 | Bulletin Board http://www.dancestudiolife.com/may-june-2017-bulletin-board/ Thu, 04 May 2017 18:32:12 +0000 http://www.dancestudiolife.com/?p=48523