Dance Studio Life Magazine
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Posts Tagged ‘live broadcast’

‘Phantom of the Opera’ Haunts Cinemas in Live Broadcast

Share

NCM Fathom and Omniverse Vision are partnering to celebrate the 25th anniversary of Andrew Lloyd Webber and Cameron Mackintosh’s history-making The Phantom of the Opera with a live broadcast beamed into local cinemas on October 2.

Broadway’s longest-running show, Phantom has been seen by more than 100 million people worldwide. (In October 2010 the London production celebrated its 10,000th performance.) The broadcast, direct from London’s Royal Albert Hall, features more than 200 cast members, orchestra musicians, and luminaries who have been involved with The Phantom of the Opera over the past 25 years.

A live broadcast is set for October 2 at 2pm (ET), 1pm (CT), noon (MT), and 11am (PT). A tape-delayed showing will run in Hawaii and Alaska at 2pm local time.

Three additional showings are set for October 5, 6, and 11 at 7:30pm local time. For details on participating cinemas, or to purchase tickets for any of the events, visit http://www.fathomevents.com/performingarts/series/phantomoftheopera.aspx. For additional information, visit www.Phantom25th.com.

[ad#Store]

Share

Osipova Stars in Sunday’s Cinema Showing of ‘Coppélia’

Share

Ballet in Cinema will present the Bolshoi Ballet in a performance of Coppélia that will be broadcast live to cinemas across the United States and Canada on May 29. The ballet stars Natalia Osipova, honored as Best Female Dancer in the 2010 Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards.

Original choreography is by Marius Petipa and Enrico Cecchetti, recreated by Sergei Vikharev. Music is by Leo Delibes. The cast includes Osipova as Swanilda, Vyacheslav Lopatin as Frantz, and Gennadi Yanin as Coppélius.

Natalia Osipova (Photo courtesy Ballet in Cinema)

The live broadcast begins at 11am EDT—8am on the West Coast. Several theaters in California and other Western states are giving late sleepers a break by delaying their showings until June 4 or later. For more information on dates, times, and locations, visit www.balletincinema.com.

Upcoming performances include Swan Lake from the Bolshoi in June, and Children of Paradise from the Paris Opera Ballet in July. Visit www.balletincinema.com for details.

Share
Share this page with your dance friends
Share
All Dance Studio Life content

Rhee Gold on Twitter
September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930